- The Big Picture - http://www.ritholtz.com/blog -

10 Monday PM Reads

Posted By Barry Ritholtz On December 17, 2012 @ 4:30 pm In Financial Press | Comments Disabled

My afternoon train reads:

• Economics may be dismal, but it is not a science (John Kay [1])
• Gold-hunting in a frugal age (The Economist [2])
• The myth of shareholder value (Gordon Pearson [3]) see also Down With Shareholder Value (NYT [4])
• Why these business owners are hiring (CNN Money [5])
• Apple, strategists and the proprietary software problem (FT Alphaville [6])
• How President Obama’s campaign used big data to rally individual voters, part 1. (Technology Review [7])
• Can’t Think of a Good Holiday Gift? Give a Bad One (Psychology Today [8])
• Have Scientists Found Two Different Higgs Bosons? (Scientific American [9]) see also Double trouble (Babbage [10])
• The First Time Tech Ruined the Music Business (Echoes [11])
• Louis C.K.: The Proust Questionnaire (Vanity Fair [12])

What are you reading?

 

How the ‘fiscal cliff’ will affect your taxes
[13]
Source: Washington Post [14]


Article printed from The Big Picture: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog

URL to article: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2012/12/10-monday-pm-reads-38/

URLs in this post:

[1] John Kay: http://www.johnkay.com/2010/04/14/economics-may-be-dismal-but-it-is-not-a-science

[2] The Economist: http://www.economist.com/news/business/21568359-austerity-battered-western-companies-are-looking-everywhere-growth-gold-hunting-frugal

[3] Gordon Pearson: http://www.gordonpearson.co.uk/30/the-myth-of-shareholder-value/

[4] NYT: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/11/opinion/nocera-down-with-shareholder-value.html?_r=0

[5] CNN Money: http://money.cnn.com/gallery/smallbusiness/2012/12/17/entrepreneurs-hiring/index.html?iid=HP_River

[6] FT Alphaville: http://ftalphaville.ft.com/2012/12/17/1310072/apple-strategists-and-the-proprietary-software-problem/?Authorised=false

[7] Technology Review: http://www.technologyreview.com/featuredstory/508836/how-obama-used-big-data-to-rally-voters-part-1/

[8] Psychology Today: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/singletons/201212/cant-think-good-holiday-gift-give-bad-one

[9] Scientific American: http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/observations/2012/12/14/have-scientists-found-two-different-higgs-bosons/

[10] Babbage: http://www.economist.com/blogs/babbage/2012/12/higgs-boson

[11] Echoes: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-12-14/the-first-time-tech-ruined-the-music-business.html

[12] Vanity Fair: http://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2013/01/louis-ck-proust-questionnaire

[13] Image: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/taxgraphic_fiscalcliff.png

[14] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/wonkblog/wp/2012/12/14/how-the-fiscal-cliff-will-affect-your-taxes-in-one-chart/

Copyright © 2008 The Big Picture. All rights reserved.