- The Big Picture - http://www.ritholtz.com/blog -

10 Sunday AM Reads

Posted By Barry Ritholtz On December 30, 2012 @ 8:30 am In Financial Press | Comments Disabled

My Sunday morning reads:

• Ben Bernanke’s Secret Message to Congress: More Stimulus, Please (The Atlantic [1])
• Why Robert Khuzami Would Be a Terrible Choice to Head the SEC  Given Read (naked capitalism [2]) see also ‘Whale’ Capsized Banks’ Rule Effort (WSJ [3])
• Obama Eyes $108 Billion Annual Asia Prize Vying With China Trade (Bloomberg [4])
• History lesson: Why the Bush tax cuts were enacted (Washington Post [5]) see also Zachary Karabell: The bright side of the fiscal cliff (Reuters [6])
Nassim Taleb: My rules for life (The Guardian [7])
• Federal Power to Intercept Messages Is Extended (NYT [8])
• Greenland and Antarctica ‘have lost four trillion tonnes of ice’ in 20 years (Guardian [9]) see also 2012 Arctic Report Card (Climate Watch [10])
• IQ ‘a myth,’ study says (The Star [11])
• Clout Diminished, Tea Party Turns to Narrower Issues (NYT [12]) see also Is Fox Even Helping the Republicans Anymore? (Huffington Post [13])
• 6 Simple Rituals To Reach Your Potential Every Day (Fast Company [14])

What are you doing this New Year’s Eve?

 

Chinese growth faces a more sober economy in 2013
[15]
Source: The Economist [16]


Article printed from The Big Picture: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog

URL to article: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2012/12/10-sunday-am-reads-4/

URLs in this post:

[1] The Atlantic: http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2012/12/ben-bernankes-secret-message-to-congress-more-stimulus-please/266594/

[2] naked capitalism: http://www.nakedcapitalism.com/2012/11/why-robert-khuzami-would-be-a-terrible-choice-to-head-the-sec.html

[3] WSJ: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323300404578205653329835588.html

[4] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-12-28/obama-eyes-108-billion-annual-asia-prize-vying-with-china-trade.html

[5] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/fact-checker/post/history-lesson-why-the-bush-tax-cuts-were-enacted/2012/12/19/55a93ac6-4a1d-11e2-ad54-580638ede391_blog.html

[6] Reuters: http://blogs.reuters.com/edgy-optimist/2012/12/28/the-bright-side-of-the-fiscal-cliff/

[7] The Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2012/nov/24/nassim-taleb-antifragile-finance-interview

[8] NYT: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/12/29/us/politics/senate-votes-to-extend-electronic-surveillance-authority-under-fisa.html

[9] Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2012/nov/29/greenland-antarctica-4-trillion-tonnes-ice

[10] Climate Watch: http://www.climatewatch.noaa.gov/article/2012/2012-arctic-report-card

[11] The Star: http://www.thestar.com/living/article/1304289--iq-a-myth-study-says

[12] NYT: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/12/26/us/politics/tea-party-its-clout-diminished-turns-to-fringe-issues.html?_r=1&hp=&adxnnl=1&pagewanted=all&adxnnlx=1356527366-KofGL690TLoL9KRwWRdfsQ

[13] Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lincoln-mitchell/is-fox-even-helping-the-r_b_2210775.html?view=screen

[14] Fast Company: http://www.fastcompany.com/3003586/6-simple-rituals-reach-your-potential-every-day

[15] Image: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/20121229_woc478.png

[16] The Economist: http://www.economist.com/blogs/graphicdetail/2012/12/daily-chart-18

Copyright © 2008 The Big Picture. All rights reserved.