- The Big Picture - http://www.ritholtz.com/blog -

10 Weekend Reads

Posted By Barry Ritholtz On March 30, 2013 @ 7:00 am In Financial Press | Comments Disabled

My best of longer-form journalism for your weekend reading pleasure:

• The Touch-Screen Generation  (Atlantic [1])
• Google Alerts ‘broken,’ ‘useless,’ and slowed to a ‘trickle’ (Venture Beat [2])
• Economists See No Crisis With U.S. Debt as Economy Gains (Bloomberg [3]) but see Bond Market Sees a slack and depressed economy (Project Syndicate [4])
• A Tale of Two Londons (Vanity Fair [5])
Reich: What Are Foundations For?  (Boston Review [6])
• #MuckReads Criminal Injustice & The Best Reporting on Wrongful Convictions  (ProPublica [7]) see also The Death Penalty Has a Face: A DA’s Personal Story (Texas Monthly [8]
America’s Greatest Sniper: The Legend of Chris Kyle (D Magazine [9])
• Diving Deep into Danger (New York Review of Books [10])
• Rodgers and Hart’s Dysfunctional Partnership (Atlantic [11])
• Why are the French drinking less wine? (BBC [12]) see also Dude, Where’s My Red Wine Pill? The strange saga of resveratrol, the wonder drug that never was (New Republic [13])

Whats up for the weekend?

 

Costly calamities
[14]
Source: The Economist [15]


Article printed from The Big Picture: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog

URL to article: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2013/03/weekend-reads-64/

URLs in this post:

[1] Atlantic: http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2013/04/the-touch-screen-generation/309250/?single_page=true

[2] Venture Beat: http://venturebeat.com/2013/03/21/google-alerts-broken-useless-and-slowed-to-a-trickle/

[3] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-03-22/economists-see-no-crisis-with-u-s-debt-as-economy-gains.html

[4] Project Syndicate: http://www.project-syndicate.org/commentary/the-great-depression-redux-by-j--bradford-delong

[5] Vanity Fair: http://www.vanityfair.com/society/2013/04/mysterious-residents-one-hyde-park-london

[6] Boston Review: http://www.bostonreview.net/BR38.2/ndf_rob_reich_foundations_philanthropy_democracy.php

[7] ProPublica: http://www.propublica.org/article/criminal-injustice-the-best-reporting-on-wrongful-convictions

[8] Texas Monthly: http://www.texasmonthly.com/story/death-penalty-has-face-das-personal-story?src=longreads

[9] D Magazine: http://www.dmagazine.com/Home/D_Magazine/2013/April/The_Legend_of_Chris_Kyle_01.aspx

[10] New York Review of Books: http://www.nybooks.com/articles/archives/2013/feb/07/diving-deep-danger/?pagination=false

[11] Atlantic: http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2013/04/words-and-music/309249/

[12] BBC: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-21929287

[13] New Republic: http://www.newrepublic.com/article/112706

[14] Image: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/COST.jpg

[15] The Economist: http://www.economist.com/blogs/graphicdetail/2013/03/daily-chart-20

Copyright © 2008 The Big Picture. All rights reserved.