- The Big Picture - http://www.ritholtz.com/blog -

10 Friday Morning Reads

Posted By Barry Ritholtz On June 21, 2013 @ 10:00 am In Financial Press | Comments Disabled

Good Friday morning:

• 7 charts that tell the Fed not to taper QE3 (MarketWatch [1])
• The Last Mystery of the Financial Crisis (Rolling Stone [2]) see also Corrupted credit ratings, Standard & Poor’s lawsuit and the evidence (Vox [3])
• Like it or not, you too have exposure to emerging markets (Sober Look [4])
• Gold Trade Most Bearish Since ’10 as Fed Spurs Drop (Bloomberg [5]) see also Gold Takes a Plunge Below $1,300 (WSJ [6])
• The Conflict Between Managing Funds and Selling Funds (Bronte Capital [7])
Decline and fall: how American society unravelled (theguardian [8])
• WTF!?! Can Others See When You View Them on LinkedIn? (Full Contact [9]) see also The Trouble With Kickstarter (WSJ [10])
• Finance blogger wisdom: summer reading (Abnormal Returns [11])
• BigBrain: An Ultrahigh-Resolution 3D Human Brain Model (Science Magazine [12]) see also BigBrain: The Best Gray Matter Map Ever Made (Popular Mechanics [13])
• Advice on Life and Creative Integrity from Calvin and Hobbes Creator Bill Watterson (Brain Pickings [14])

What are you doing this glorious weekend?

 

Gold Takes a Plunge Below $1,300
Chart [15]
Source: WSJ [6]


Article printed from The Big Picture: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog

URL to article: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2013/06/10-friday-morning-reads/

URLs in this post:

[1] MarketWatch: http://www.marketwatch.com/Story/story/print?guid=4CD0B18A-D835-11E2-91D1-002128040CF6

[2] Rolling Stone: http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/news/the-last-mystery-of-the-financial-crisis-20130619

[3] Vox: http://www.voxeu.org/article/corrupted-credit-ratings-standard-poor-s-lawsuit-and-evidence

[4] Sober Look: http://soberlook.com/2013/06/like-it-or-not-you-too-have-exposure-to.html

[5] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-06-20/gold-trade-most-bearish-since-10-as-fed-spurs-drop-commodities.html

[6] WSJ: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323893504578556832192964530.html

[7] Bronte Capital: http://brontecapital.blogspot.com/2013/06/the-conflict-between-managing-funds-and.html

[8] theguardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jun/19/decline-fall-american-society-unravelled

[9] Full Contact: http://www.fullcontact.com/blog/view-profiles-anonymously-linkedin/

[10] WSJ: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887324021104578551313657138252.html?mod=ITP_arena_0

[11] Abnormal Returns: http://abnormalreturns.com/

[12] Science Magazine: http://www.sciencemag.org/content/340/6139/1472

[13] Popular Mechanics: http://www.popularmechanics.com/science/health/nueroscience/bigbrain-the-best-gray-matter-map-ever-made-15611977?click=pm_news

[14] Brain Pickings: http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2013/05/20/bill-watterson-1990-kenyon-speech/

[15] Image: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/gold.jpg

Copyright © 2008 The Big Picture. All rights reserved.