- The Big Picture - http://www.ritholtz.com/blog -

10 Mid-Week AM Reads

Posted By Barry Ritholtz On August 14, 2013 @ 10:00 am In Financial Press | Comments Disabled

My morning reading:

Doug Kass:”the Market Has Peaked for 2013″ (The Street.com [1])
• SPACS SUCK, FILM AT 11: Thriving Financial Product, Despite a Record of Failure (Dealbook [2])
• BlackBerry – and Nokia’s – Fundamental Failing (stratēchery [3]) see also HOW BLACKBERRY FELL (Elements [4])
• Next Fed Head Should Meet the Bernie Sanders/Elizabeth Warren Standard (The Nation [5])
Felix: “Summers has demonstrated essentially zero crisis-prevention skills” Obama’s dangerously heroic view of the Fed (Reuters [6]) see also Senate Pressure on Fed Pick Irks White House (WSJ [7])
• The problem with algorithms: magnifying misbehaviour (theguardian [8])
• Journalism Has Entered A Golden Age (Business Insider [9])
• Social Security is a model, not a failure, for Washington budgetmaking (Christian Science Monitor [10])
• Defending iOS with cheap iPhones (Benedict Evans [11]) see also The Case for a New Lower-Cost iPhone (Daring Fireball [12])
• 40 maps that explain the world (World Views [13])

What are your reading?

 

After Losing Season, Records May Be Safe
Chart [14]
Source: WSJ [15]


Article printed from The Big Picture: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog

URL to article: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2013/08/mid-week-am-reads-15/

URLs in this post:

[1] The Street.com: http://www.thestreet.com/story/12007604/1/kass-10-reasons-the-market-has-peaked.html

[2] Dealbook: http://dealbook.nytimes.com/2013/08/13/a-thriving-financial-product-despite-a-record-of-failure/

[3] stratēchery : http://stratechery.com/2013/blackberry-and-nokias-fundamental-failing/

[4] Elements: http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/elements/2013/08/blackberry-sale-announcement-iphone-smartphone-market.html

[5] The Nation: http://www.thenation.com/blog/175724/next-fed-head-should-meet-bernie-sanderselizabeth-warren-standard#

[6] Reuters: http://blogs.reuters.com/felix-salmon/2013/08/13/obamas-dangerously-heroic-view-of-the-fed/

[7] WSJ: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323446404579011190517262538.html

[8] theguardian: http://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2013/aug/14/problem-with-algorithms-magnifying-misbehaviour

[9] Business Insider: http://www.businessinsider.com/a-golden-age-for-journalism-2013-8

[10] Christian Science Monitor: http://www.csmonitor.com/Business/new-economy/2013/0813/Social-Security-is-a-model-not-a-failure-for-Washington-budgetmaking

[11] Benedict Evans: http://ben-evans.com/benedictevans/2013/8/13/defending-ios

[12] Daring Fireball: http://daringfireball.net/2013/08/the_case_for_a_new_lower_cost_iphone

[13] World Views: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/worldviews/wp/2013/08/12/40-maps-that-explain-the-world/

[14] Image: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/FDAS.jpg

[15] WSJ: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323446404579011190730677498.html

Copyright © 2008 The Big Picture. All rights reserved.