- The Big Picture - http://www.ritholtz.com/blog -

10 Friday AM Reads

Posted By Barry Ritholtz On October 25, 2013 @ 9:00 am In Financial Press | Comments Disabled

My early morning reads, hand selected from our fine cellar of thought provoking concepts:

• ​The Desert Island Portfolio (Research Affiliates [1])
• Age of Bullshit Investments Is Back! (NY Mag [2]) see also How to Make Money for Nothing Like Wall St (The Atlantic [3])
• Process and Performance (Above the Market [4])
• What Happened to the Part-Time Employment Story? (A Dash of Insight [5])
• China: Superpower or Superbust? (National Interest [6])
• Eric Holder Finally Gets Tough on Banks (Bloomberg [7])
• 18 Signs Economists Haven’t the Foggiest (Unlearning Economics [8])
• Missing “Why” of iPad (Stratēchery [9]) see also iPads, price + self-selection (Benedict Evans [10])
• 932-page tome on Beatles is 1st of 3 volumes aiming to be a definitive history of Fab Four (WSJ [11])
• This is what I want for my birthday next year: Montana Dueling Dinosaurs Fossils (Bonhams [12])

What are you reading?

 

Forward Guidance 

Source: Bespoke Invest [13]


Article printed from The Big Picture: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog

URL to article: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2013/10/friday-am-reads-21/

URLs in this post:

[1] Research Affiliates: http://www.researchaffiliates.com/Our%20Ideas/Insights/Fundamentals/Pages/F-2013-10-Desert-Island-Portfolio.aspx

[2] NY Mag: http://nymag.com/daily/intelligencer/2013/10/crazy-investment-time-again.html

[3] The Atlantic: http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2013/10/How-to-Make-Money-for-Nothing-Like-Wall-Street/280825/

[4] Above the Market: http://rpseawright.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/process-and-performance/

[5] A Dash of Insight: http://oldprof.typepad.com/a_dash_of_insight/2013/10/what-happened-to-the-part-time-employment-story.html

[6] National Interest: http://nationalinterest.org/print/article/china-superpower-or-superbust-9269

[7] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-10-24/eric-holder-finally-gets-tough-on-banks.html

[8] Unlearning Economics: http://unlearningeconomics.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/18-signs-economists-havent-the-foggiest/

[9] Stratēchery: http://stratechery.com/2013/missing-ipad/

[10] Benedict Evans: http://ben-evans.com/benedictevans/2013/10/24/ipads-and-self-selection

[11] WSJ: http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702304069604579153613632616816

[12] Bonhams: http://www.bonhams.com/auctions/21076/

[13] Bespoke Invest: http://www.bespokeinvest.com/thinkbig/2013/10/24/guidance-remains-weak.html

Copyright © 2008 The Big Picture. All rights reserved.