- The Big Picture - http://www.ritholtz.com/blog -

10 Weekend Reads

Posted By Barry Ritholtz On November 2, 2013 @ 7:30 am In Financial Press | Comments Disabled

Good Saturday morning. Pour yourself a cup of Joe, and enjoy these longer form, interesting reads I have accumulated over the past week:

• Using Chaos Theory to Predict and Prevent Catastrophic ‘Dragon King’ Events (Wired [1])
How General Motors Was Really Saved: The Untold True Story Of The Most Important Bankruptcy In U.S. History (Forbes [2])
Takedown: Meet Dave Ramsey, America’s Personal Finance Guru (Pacific Standard [3])
• Dan Loeb’s Skeletons: Did He Hit a Young Cuban Kid in a 2002 Car Accident? (Vanity Fair [4]) see also Bill Erbey Made $2.3B Off Your Underwater Mortgage (The Street [5])
• Why Is America Turning To Shit? (The Awl [6])
• The Snowden Leaks and the Public (NY Books [7])
• The Nuclear Fusion Arms Race Is Underway (Vice [8]
• Why I Quit Major League Baseball (New Yorker [9])
• The Secrets of Bezos: How Amazon Became the Everything Store (Business Week [10])
• The Decline of Wikipedia: Even As More People Than Ever Rely on It, Fewer People Create It (Technology Review [11])

Whats up or the weekend?

 

Analyzing State Tax Reciepts
SDI_9-13
Source: Liscio Report [12]


Article printed from The Big Picture: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog

URL to article: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2013/11/weekend-reads-94/

URLs in this post:

[1] Wired: http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2013/10/chaos-theory-dragon-kings/

[2] Forbes: http://www.forbes.com/sites/danbigman/2013/10/30/how-general-motors-was-really-saved-the-untold-true-story-of-the-most-important-bankruptcy-in-u-s-history/

[3] Pacific Standard: http://www.psmag.com/business-economics/prophet-dave-ramsey-personal-finance-67269/

[4] Vanity Fair: http://www.vanityfair.com/business/2013/12/dan-loeb-cuba-car-accident

[5] The Street: http://www.thestreet.com/story/12083751/1/bill-erbey-made-23b-off-your-underwater-mortgage.html

[6] The Awl: http://www.theawl.com/2013/10/shit-shit-shit

[7] NY Books: http://www.nybooks.com/articles/archives/2013/nov/21/snowden-leaks-and-public/

[8] Vice: http://motherboard.vice.com/blog/the-nuclear-fusion-arms-race-is-underway

[9] New Yorker: http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/sportingscene/2013/10/why-i-quit-major-league-baseball.html

[10] Business Week: http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2013-10-10/jeff-bezos-and-the-age-of-amazon-excerpt-from-the-everything-store-by-brad-stone

[11] Technology Review: http://www.technologyreview.com/featuredstory/520446/the-decline-of-wikipedia/

[12] Liscio Report: http://www.theliscioreport.com/

Copyright © 2008 The Big Picture. All rights reserved.