- The Big Picture - http://www.ritholtz.com/blog -

10 Tuesday PM Reads

Posted By Barry Ritholtz On January 21, 2014 @ 4:30 pm In Financial Press | Comments Disabled

My afternoon train-reading:

• U.S. Stock Values Have Analysts Worried (WSJ [1])
• Indexing is no panacea for investors (Abnormal Returns [2])
Mining for Gold: Why Have Junior Miners Underperformed the Metal? (Market Anthropology [3])
• ’Wolf of Wall Street’ Offspring Never Quite Die (Bloomberg [4])
• Some People Love Money So Much They Can’t Live Without It (Bloomberg [5]) see also Wall Street’s War (Huffington Post [6])
• Pentagon has no defense against lawmakers when it comes to appropriations (Washington Post [7])
• Why Are Taxpayer Funded Texas Public Schools Teaching Creationism? (Slate [8])
• Trickle-down economics is the greatest broken promise of our lifetime (The Guardian [9]) see also Oxfam: 85 richest people as wealthy as poorest half of the world (The Guardian [10])
• Why Audio Never Goes Viral (Digg [11])
• What If These TED Talks Were Horribly, Unspeakably Wrong? (The Awl [12])

What are you reading?

 

Is Europe Making a Comeback?

Source: Black Rock [13]

 

 


Article printed from The Big Picture: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog

URL to article: http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2014/01/10-tuesday-pm-reads-80/

URLs in this post:

[1] WSJ: http://blogs.wsj.com/moneybeat/2014/01/20/u-s-stock-values-have-analysts-worried/

[2] Abnormal Returns: http://abnormalreturns.com/indexing-is-no-panacea-for-investor/

[3] Market Anthropology: http://www.marketanthropology.com/2014/01/mining-for-gold.html

[4] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-01-16/-wolf-of-wall-street-offspring-never-quite-die.html

[5] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-01-21/levine-on-wall-street-some-people-love-money-so-much-they-can-t-live-without-it.html

[6] Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/rj-eskow/how-wall-street-won-the-w_b_4637598.html

[7] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/national-security/pentagon-has-no-defense-against-lawmakers-when-it-comes-to-appropriations/2014/01/20/40389902-7fb4-11e3-9556-4a4bf7bcbd84_story.html

[8] Slate: http://www.slate.com/articles/health_and_science/science/2014/01/creationism_in_texas_public_schools_undermining_the_charter_movement.html

[9] The Guardian: http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jan/20/trickle-down-economics-broken-promise-richest-85

[10] The Guardian: http://www.theguardian.com/business/2014/jan/20/oxfam-85-richest-people-half-of-the-world

[11] Digg: http://digg.com/originals/why-audio-never-goes-viral

[12] The Awl: http://www.theawl.com/2014/01/what-if-these-seven-famous-ted-talks-are-just-totally-wrong

[13] Black Rock: https://www.blackrockblog.com/2013/11/13/europe-making-comeback/

Copyright © 2008 The Big Picture. All rights reserved.